Beware the recipes you find online

Lately I have been seeking out recipes for my blender bottle. As aforementioned, some recipes I have found were made for Shakeology. Although some sound amazing, I have found out, the hard way, that some recipes need to be tweaked and some…just seem like a sick joke being played on those of us anxious to taste our creation take a HUGE swig. 😛
So to share some of my mistakes here are 2 recipes that could be tweaked but by being followed to the letter spelled disaster.:(

Recipe 1: Thin Mint
First of all, who doesn’t love Girl Scout cookies?!?! And furthermore, who wouldn’t want that Thin Mint goodness at their fingertips??? So here is what the recipe calls for….
1 c vanilla almond milk
1 scoop chocolate protein powder
1 tsp ming extract
Ice
Shake & enjoy….
Let me tell you this, there is no good reason to add 1 tsp mint extract to ANYTHING! I took a giant gulp and almost threw up from the overpowering mint that no doubt poisoned my taste buds for hours after the assault. Do NOT add 1 tsp of mint extract to this…ever.

Recipe 2: Tiramisu
My Italian genetics told me this would taste like liquid heaven. My mouth was not impressed. 😦 Not only did this not taste like the familiar creamy, coffee, and cocoa cake that it promised, I tried to “fix” it but made it worse.
This called for…
1 scoop vanilla protein powder
1 c cooled coffee
1/4 c vanilla almond milk
2 tbsp ricotta cheese
1/2 tsp unsweetened cocoa
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp rum extract or rum

Before I even added rum into the mix I took a sip. It was…weird and did not taste like a piece of one of my favorite desserts. So I tried to balance out the flavors. Which resulted in me accidentally spilling my tub of ricotta, running late to work, and not being able to stomach my mad scientist concoction. -_-
FAIL.
Perhaps these tasted good to someone…but for me…2 strikes! Oh well. Learning as I go!

Leave a Reply

