One Pot Pasta

When I am pressed for time or craving pasta I usually turn to a quick favorite: pasta aglio e olio. This is a pasta made with olive oil and garlic. Very light and flavorful. And over the years I have added layers to the aglio e olio to accommodate my tastes or basing my dish on what I have on hand.
Tonight I started with the following:
6oz Barilla Pasta with fiber
Olive oil
Minced garlic to taste

Two pointers to remember when making pasta…do not add olive oil to your water! It doesn’t stick to the pasta so your wasting it. Also, do NOT rinse your pasta when you strain it! When you rinse it all the nutrients go right down the drain.

Since I had my pasta aglio e olio prepared I added in a few items and it turned out very tasty.
Add ins:
1/2 c Fiber One cottage cheese
1/2 c shredded cheddar
1 tbsp basil
2 tbsp parsley
Salt and pepper
Mix together while the pasta is warm.

image

Try including pasta aglio e olio to your meal plan and try these add ins or some of what you have on hand. Never be afraid to experiment with things that go well together or that compliment each other. Thanks for reading and happy eating!

Leave a Reply

